First 100 days

Posted June 25, 2021 in
Agencies Agencies
Hey, I'm a marketing manager about to embark on a more senior post (head of marketing) at an ecommerce agency. I would love to hear from seasoned agency leaders/marketers what you advise should be the key priorities/achievements in my first 100 days?

Thanks in advance!
4 2 6
6 Comments
User Profile

Tom DiScipio
First... a HUGE congrats on your new role! 🎉

Second, here are a few thoughts (in no particular order):
  • Read (or re-read) "5 Dysfunctions of a Team" and have your team read it with you.
  • Align with other company leaders on the Vision of the organization. Where are they planning to be in 3 months, 6 months, 1-year, 3-years, etc? Sales, revenue, profit, etc. Document that for your team and assure they understand that Vision as well as you do.
  • Memorize verbatim the company's core purpose, mission statement and core values. Help your team to do the same.
  • Identify and commit to the 3 - 5 performance metrics that would determine if you had a good week or a bad week / a good month or a bad month. Begin measuring them by the beginning of your second month in the role. Be able to show data by end of the third month (even if it isn't great). Assure these line up and influence the high-level, company targets.
  • Proactively set up your regular 1-1s and first performance review with your manager
  • Form a relationship with your sales team. Interview them and document their biggest blockers to closing deals along with the questions they get asked the most in the sales process. Develop one or two priorities around addressing those pains and creating content to save them time.
  • Listen to as many customer calls as you can, at least one or two per week. Join calls with your service delivery team and sales team to understand what's driving your customers to make decisions.